MPs that support the NHS Bill 2016-2017

PLEASE NOTE:  This page was written prior to the General Election in May 2017. The information below is provided for historical interest only, and may refer to individuals that were MPs prior to the 2017 General Election.

On 13th July 2016, the NHS Reinstatement Bill was successfully presented in the House of Commons, by Margaret Greenwood, Labour MP for Wirral West.

The 11 named supporters of the Bill consisted of 9 Labour MPs, plus one Green and one Lib Dem – but sadly no SNP MPs (who are supporters of the Bill)as follows:

  • Caroline Lucas, Green MP for Brighton Pavilion
  • Dawn Butler, Labour MP for Brent Central
  • Stella Creasy, Labour MP for Walthamstow
  • Nic Dakin, Labour MP for Scunthorpe
  • Peter Dowd, Labour MP for Bootle
  • Mike Kane, Labour MP for Wythenshawe and Sale East
  • Liz McInnes, Labour MP for Heywood and Middleton
  • Yasmin Qureshi, Labour MP for Bolton South East
  • Marie Rimmer, Labour MP for St Helens and Whiston
  • Stephen Twigg, Labour MP for Liverpool West Derby
  • John Pugh, Lib Dem MP for Southport


Does your MP support the NHS Bill? Check if their name is below, and if it is – please thank them. And if it isn’t – please ask them to demonstrate their support publicly.

The ‘I support the NHS Bill‘ posters are available online here, or Margaret Greenwood has several in her office and is very happy for any MP to come and have their photo taken.


If you think names should be added (or removed) from this list, please tweet us @nhsbillnow or email us: [email protected]


Labour MPs

Diane Abbott Hackney North and Stoke Newington
Dave Anderson Blaydon Supporter of the NHS Bill
Roberta Blackman-Woods City of Durham
Dawn Butler Brent Central NHS Bill sponsor (2016-2017)
Ronnie Campbell Blyth Valley Supporter of the NHS Bill
Jeremy Corbyn Islington North NHS Bill sponsor (11 March 2015)

Stella Creasey Walthamstow NHS Bill sponsor (2016-2017)
Alex Cunningham Stockton
Nicholas Dakin Scunthorpe NHS Bill sponsor (2016-2017)

Peter Dowd Bootle NHS Bill sponsor (2016-2017)
Angela Eagle Wallasey Supporter of the NHS Bill
Mary Glindon North Tyneside
Roger Godsiff Birmingham, Hall Green Supporter of the NHS Bill
Margaret Greenwood Wirral West Main NHS Bill sponsor (2016-2017)

Carolyn Harris Swansea East
Kelvin Hopkins Luton North NHS Bill sponsor (11 March 2015 and 2015-2016)
Mike Kane Wythenshawe and Sale East NHS Bill sponsor (2016-2017)
Emma Lewell-Buck South Shields
Clive Lewis Norwich South
Rob Marris Wolverhampton South West NHS Bill sponsor (2015-2016)
Rachael Maskell York Central
Chris Matheson City of Chester
Andy McDonald Middlesbrough
John McDonnell Hayes and Harlington NHS Bill sponsor (11 March 2015 and 2015-2016)
Liz McInnes Heywood and Middleton NHS Bill sponsor (2016-2017)
Grahame Morris Easington Supporter of the NHS Bill

Melanie Onn Great Grimsby
Yasmin Qureshi Bolton South East
Christina Rees Neath
Jonathan Reynolds Stalybridge & Hyde
Marie Rimmer St Helens South and Whiston NHS Bill sponsor (2016-2017)
Andy Slaughter Hammersmith
Cat Smith Lancaster and Fleetwood NHS Bill sponsor (2015-2016)
Emily Thornberry Islington South and Finsbury Supporter of the NHS Bill
Jon Trickett Hemsworth Supporter of the NHS Bill
Stephen Twigg Liverpool, West Derby NHS Bill sponsor (2016-2017)


Green Party MPs

The Green Party as a whole supports the NHS Bill.

Caroline Lucas Brighton Pavilion Main NHS Bill sponsor (both on 11 March 2015 and for the 2015-2016 Bill).



Liberal Democrat MPs

John Pugh Southport NHS Bill sponsor for all three presentations of the Bill (11 March 2015, 2015-2016 and 2016-2017)



Plaid Cymru

Hywel Williams Arfon NHS Bill sponsor (both on 11 March 2015 and for the 2015-2016 Bill).



Scottish National Party (and ex-SNP Independent)

The SNP as a whole supports the NHS Bill. Since her election in 2015, Dr Philippa Whitford, their Health Spokesperson in Westminster has consistently and vocally backed the Bill.

Richard Arkless Dumfries and Galloway
Hannah Bardell Livingston
Mhairi Black Paisley and Renfrewshire South
Ian Blackford Skye and Lochaber
Kirsty Blackman Aberdeen North
Phil Boswell Coatbridge, Chryston and Bellshill
Deidre Brock Edinburgh North and Leith
Alan Brown Kilmarnock and Loudoun
Lisa Cameron East Kilbride, Strathaven and Lesmahagow
Douglas Chapman Dunfermline and West Fife  
Joanna Cherry Edinburgh South West
Ronnie Cowan Inverclyde
Angela Crawley Lanark and Hamilton East
Martyn Day Linlithgow and East Falkirk
Martin Docherty West Dunbartonshire
Stuart Donaldson West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine
Marion Fellows Motherwell and Wishaw
Margaret Ferrier Rutherglen and Hamilton West  
Stephen Gethins North East Fife
Patricia Gibson North Ayrshire and Arran
Patrick Grady Glasgow North  
Peter Grant Glenrothes
Neil Gray Airdrie and Shotts  
Drew Hendry Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey
Stewart Hosie Dundee East Joined in photoshoot for the first NHS Bill in 2015 to show his support.
George Kerevan East Lothian
Calum Kerr Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk  
Chris Law Dundee West
Angus MacNeil Na h-Eileanan an Iar
Callum McCaig Aberdeen South
Stuart McDonald Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East
Stewart McDonald Glasgow South
Natalie McGarry Glasgow East
Anne McLaughlin Glasgow North East
John McNally Falkirk
Paul Monaghan Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross
Carol Monaghan Glasgow North West
Roger Mullin Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath
Gavin Newlands Paisley and Renfrewshire North
John Nicolson East Dunbartonshire
Brendan O’Hara Argyll and Bute
Kirsten Oswald East Renfrewshire
Steven Paterson Stirling
Angus Robertson Moray
Alex Salmond Gordon
Tasmina Sheikh Ochil and South Perthshire
Tommy Sheppard Edinburgh East  
Chris Stephens Glasgow South West  
Alison Thewliss Glasgow Central
Owen Thompson Midlothian
Michael Weir Angus  
Corri Wilson Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock
Eilidh Whiteford Banff and Buchan NHS Bill sponsor (11 March 2015 and 2015-2016)
Philippa Whitford Ayrshire NHS Bill sponsor (2015-2016)




Pete Wishart Perth and North Perthshire
Michelle Thomson Edinburgh West Independent (resigned SNP whip in Sept 2015)




Conservative MPs

No Conservative MPs have stated support for the NHS Bill.


With thanks to Nicola Hippisley for photography.