NHS Bill tabled in parliament – 1st July 2015

On Wednesday 1st July the NHS Reinstatement Bill was presented to the House of Commons by Caroline Lucas of the Green Party supported by a cross party group of MPs representing Labour, SNP, the Liberal Democracts and Plaid Cymru.

The Bill has been published under the name of the ‘National Health Service Bill’ and is publically available on the parliament website. It is scheduled for a second reading on 11 March 2016.

12 MPs is the maximum number that can add their names to a private members bill when it is presented in parliament. The 12 MPs who are named as supporters of the NHS Bill are:

Caroline Lucas (Green, Brighton Pavilion)

Philippa Whitford (Scottish National Party – Health Spokesperson, Central Ayrshire)

Cat Smith (Labour, Lancaster and Fleetwood)

John Pugh (Liberal Democrat, Southport)

Hywel Williams (Plaid Cymru, Arfon)

Jeremy Corbyn (Labour, Islington North)

Michael Meacher (Labour, Oldham West) (sadly Michael passed away on 20th October 2015)

Eilidh Whiteford (Scottish National Party, Banff and Buchan)

Rob Marris (Labour, Wolverhampton South West)

Kelvin Hopkins (Labour, Luton North)

John McDonnell (Labour, Hayes and Harlington)

Roger Godsiff (Labour, Birmingham Hall Green)

Two more Labour MPs also offered to add their name to the Bill, but were unable to be added because of the 12 MP limit:

Margaret Greenwood (Labour, Wirral West)

Richard Burgon (Labour, Leeds East)