MPs that support the NHS Bill 2017-2018

Does your MP support the NHS Bill? The Bill has not yet been introduced into parliament since the June 2017 election, but all the MPs below have stated their support publicly to the principles of the Bill.

Please check if your MP is below, and if they are – please thank them. And if they aren’t – please ask them to demonstrate their support publicly.

The ‘I support the NHS Bill‘ posters are available online here, or Margaret Greenwood (Labour, West Wirral) has several in her office and is very happy for any MP to come and have their photo taken.


If you think names should be added (or removed) from this list, please tweet us @nhsbillnow or email us: [email protected]


Diane Abbott Hackney North and Stoke Newington
Roberta Blackman-Woods City of Durham
Dawn Butler Brent Central NHS Bill sponsor (2016-2017)
Ronnie Campbell Blyth Valley Supporter of the NHS Bill
Jeremy Corbyn Islington North NHS Bill sponsor (11 March 2015)

Stella Creasey Walthamstow NHS Bill sponsor (2016-2017)
Alex Cunningham Stockton
Nicholas Dakin Scunthorpe NHS Bill sponsor (2016-2017)

Peter Dowd Bootle NHS Bill sponsor (2016-2017)
David Drew Stroud Supporter of the NHS Bill
Angela Eagle Wallasey Supporter of the NHS Bill
Mary Glindon North Tyneside
Roger Godsiff Birmingham, Hall Green Supporter of the NHS Bill
Margaret Greenwood Wirral West Main NHS Bill sponsor (2016-2017)

Louise Haigh Sheffield, Heeley
Carolyn Harris Swansea East
Kelvin Hopkins Luton North NHS Bill sponsor (11 March 2015 and 2015-2016)
Mike Kane Wythenshawe and Sale East NHS Bill sponsor (2016-2017)
Emma Lewell-Buck South Shields
Clive Lewis Norwich South
Rachael Maskell York Central
Chris Matheson City of Chester
Andy McDonald Middlesbrough
John McDonnell Hayes and Harlington NHS Bill sponsor (11 March 2015 and 2015-2016)
Liz McInnes Heywood and Middleton NHS Bill sponsor (2016-2017)
Ian Mearns Gateshead Supporter of the NHS Bill
Grahame Morris Easington Supporter of the NHS Bill

Melanie Onn Great Grimsby
Chi Onwurah Newcastle Central Supporter of the NHS Bill
Laura Pidcock North West Durham Supporter of the NHS Bill
Yasmin Qureshi Bolton South East
Faisal Rashid Warrington South Supporter of the NHS Bill
Christina Rees Neath
Jonathan Reynolds Stalybridge & Hyde
Marie Rimmer St Helens South and Whiston NHS Bill sponsor (2016-2017)
Lloyd Russell-Moyle Brighton Kemptown Supporter of the NHS Bill
Tulip Siddiq Hampstead and Kilburn Supporter of the NHS Bill
Cat Smith Lancaster and Fleetwood NHS Bill sponsor (2015-2016)
Emily Thornberry Islington South and Finsbury Supporter of the NHS Bill
Jon Trickett Hemsworth Supporter of the NHS Bill
Stephen Twigg Liverpool, West Derby NHS Bill sponsor (2016-2017)
Chris Williamson Derby North Supporter of the NHS Bill


Green Party

The Green Party as a whole supports the NHS Bill.

Caroline Lucas Brighton Pavilion Main NHS Bill sponsor (both on 11 March 2015 and for the 2015-2016 Bill).


Plaid Cymru

Hywel Williams Arfon NHS Bill sponsor (both on 11 March 2015 and for the 2015-2016 Bill).


Scottish National Party

The SNP as a whole supports the NHS Bill, and therefore all their 35 MPs are supportive. Since her election in 2015, Dr Philippa Whitford, their Health Spokesperson in Westminster has consistently and vocally backed the Bill.

Hannah Bardell Livingston
Mhairi Black Paisley and Renfrewshire South
Ian Blackford Skye and Lochaber
Kirsty Blackman Aberdeen North
Deidre Brock Edinburgh North and Leith
Alan Brown Kilmarnock and Loudoun
Lisa Cameron East Kilbride, Strathaven and Lesmahagow
Douglas Chapman Dunfermline and West Fife  
Joanna Cherry Edinburgh South West
Ronnie Cowan Inverclyde
Angela Crawley Lanark and Hamilton East
Martyn Day Linlithgow and East Falkirk
Martin Docherty West Dunbartonshire
Marion Fellows Motherwell and Wishaw
Stephen Gethins North East Fife
Patricia Gibson North Ayrshire and Arran
Patrick Grady Glasgow North  
Peter Grant Glenrothes
Neil Gray Airdrie and Shotts  
Drew Hendry Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey
Stewart Hosie Dundee East Joined in photoshoot for the first NHS Bill in 2015 to show his support.
Chris Law Dundee West
David Linden Glasgow East
Angus MacNeil Na h-Eileanan an Iar
Stuart McDonald Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East
Stewart McDonald Glasgow South
John McNally Falkirk
Carol Monaghan Glasgow North West
Gavin Newlands Paisley and Renfrewshire North
Brendan O’Hara Argyll and Bute
Tommy Sheppard Edinburgh East  
Chris Stephens Glasgow South West  
Alison Thewliss Glasgow Central
Philippa Whitford Ayrshire NHS Bill sponsor (2015-2016)


Pete Wishart Perth and North Perthshire


Liberal Democrat

Since the departure of John Pugh at the 2017 General Election there are no Liberal Democrat MPs that support the NHS Bill.



No Conservative MPs have stated support for the NHS Bill.

With thanks to Nicola Hippisley for photography